Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
and the Adventure Cycle
6,141 Posts
Most people seem to agree that it's to get a better combustion of the gas.
If I remember correctly, for each cylinder, one plug fires very quickly after the other. Not both at once.

·
Registered
37 Posts
I'm not a engineer but I've thought the same thing.

My opinion
In the combustion chamber, the location, number of and size of valves is less than ideal for a single plug, so they tend to compensate a incomplete burn by adding a plug. I believe that in all U.S. cars since the late 70's or so, there is a EGR valve to burn, unburned gases instead of two plugs but for pollution reasons.

There is a tendency in the past 30 plus years for more and larger valves, for better air flow which means more power and or efficient.

·
Registered
28 Posts
some people also ask "why DOHC?" or "Why does it rev so high?"

The answer is that this bike was introduced with such a high tech V-Twin package at the time that it lasted another 20 years in the market virtually unchanged and could still smoke all the other stock V-twin 750's released!

·
Gnarly Jokester
1,796 Posts
I agree with Hyper on this one. The bike has very good acceleration for a 750cc and it looks like the two plugs per cylinder are the reason.

·
Calif Rider
725 Posts
Old Aircraft mechanic

With two plugs there is better combustion in the cylinders. Better burning of the gas vapers. The way the old piston planes worked they both fired at the same time, this causes the gas to burn evenly in the cylinder and more complete. Old Air Force Dude.

·
Gnarly Jokester
1,796 Posts
Had a Nissan pickup with a Nap-Z engine that had two plugs per cylinder and one was for combustion and the other plug was for pre exhaust, but I think
on our bike both plugs are for combustion.

·
Registered
553 Posts