Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I just got myself an 86 vn750 (got tired of killing my back on my gsxr600 sitting in nyc traffic every day). I'm not very good with carbed bikes (I've wrenched my gsxr more than a few times though so I'm not completely new to it), however I cant seem to find any diagrams of what a specific part is on my carb. There is a plunger type thing with a black boot that sits on top of the carb, about 2 inches above the air/fuel screw. It seems that, even if the bike is off, there is a steady drip of gas coming from it. This is only happening on one side. do you guys know what this part is specifically? and also, can this be a result of a clogged carb/needle?

Attachments

·
Registered
73 Posts
Thats the choke...and it appears to be stuck in that particular pic. The lil v fork and the top of the lil plunger should always be
touching.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you guys, I will check that out. Is there any particular reason why they stick? Flooded/clogged bowl? Do I just wiggle them up and down to unstick them or should I drain the carb first?

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
I'd also change the gaskets on the petcock. I rebuilt my entire carb and was still getting a drip here and there. Turns out the gasket was bad on the PC and it kept leaking and filling up the carb

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for the suggestions guys, I wiggled it around and it seems to not be stuck anymore, however, the mystery continues.

Now when I try to start the bike, it just cranks and cranks but wont start. If i move the choke all the way towards me (towards the rear of the bike), the bike will stop cranking completely. Like it will crank once and then silence. Could this be related to the leaking choke or should I just call it a day and pull out the carbs for a cleaning (which I would like to avoid if possible, as the bike ran before this gas leak)?