Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Expendable newbie
309 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, please help if you can.
This is my first time at a lot of things like riding a motorcycle, posting on a forum, and working on a motorcycle. I have never signed up for any forum but I couldn't resist vn750 because it was just so awesome.

So for my very first bike every, I bought a 95 Vulcan 750 with 8000 miles on it from someone who had it in storage for maybe almost decade. It is a CA model so it has the evap system on it.

I decided to take apart the carb and clean it and I discover something weird. I notice that the vent hose on my carb was connected to the canister in the middle of the bike (under the battery and behind the engine). And the grommet (part #: 92071A) on the left side of the bike was connected to nothing.

The picture shows the hose and grommet that I'm talking about. In the picture it looks like the hose is connected to the grommet, but its not, it actually goes to the carb.

I checked the manual and it says that the canister hose is suppose to connect to the grommet and the carb vent hose is suppose to connect to the air filter. I checked and the hose fits perfectly in the grommet. I don't see any hose on the air filter to connect the carb vent to.

I don't believe that the grommet is suppose to be left in the open like that, otherwise it draws in unfiltered air, right? I also don't think the carb vent is suppose to be connected to the canister because in the manual, it looks like the carb vent and canister hose both expel something.

So how are these hoses suppose to be set up. If you have a CA model and can tell me how its suppose to be connected then that would be great. If not, then where are your carb vent hoses connected to?

Attachments

·
Registered
8,250 Posts
Welcome to the forum.