Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys let me first start off by saying I am a complete novice in the mechanics of motorcycles. I was looking at my 05 750 and I noticed two semi clear tubes sticking out from the bottom of the bike. When I touched one it actually fell out. Now I am affraid to start the bike. What are these tubes and how easy is it to reatach that hose, and can I ride it without it? Thanks for your help ion advance.

Roger

·
and the Adventure Cycle
6,141 Posts
If you have the stock, or wet cell battery, one of the tubes is the vent for that. You definatly want to reattach that if it came off!!

The other, I believe, is the gas tank vent.

You'll need to remove the seat to see which came off.
If the gas tank one, you'll see that easily, as there's a metal tube at the back of the tank it attaches to.
You will probably need to remove the battery to reattach the tube if it's that one.

·
Old Twistie Sticks Rider
5,072 Posts
I second Hyper... If one is clear it goes to the wet cell battery, usually the gas tank vent is black I believe... If the battery has been replaced by a Maintence Free one it may not have a vent connection and could be why it fell out when you touched it.... BTW-If it is a wet cell, while you are checking the tube, check and service the battery with distilled water, they dry up pretty quick, I usually check mine at least every time I change oil (3K), and even more during hot weather...
Have a good one...Old Dog...

·
Registered
1,750 Posts
So, are you a tuba player?

DT

·
Love My Baby
1,165 Posts
There are several vent hoses on your bike. One which is clear is the battery vent hose. If this is the one you pulled off, it is relatively easy to replace. Without it in place, your battery fluid could overflow and the acid could corrode part of your electrical system and frame. To replace the battery vent hose, you need to remove the seat.
Picture 1.jpg