Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Glenn C.
1,628 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So here's the deal, I work at a plat where we design and build custom packaging machinery and robots for the packing/casing industry. I am a service tech for the machines, have been doing it for 2.5 years now. Several of the guys at the plant ride motorcycles, i'd say of the 78 employees, about 15 of them ride.
Anyway, we just hired a new assembler tech who is a cocky sob, he's been here for not even two weeks and thinks he knows it all. He came rolling in the other day on his Suzuki Marauder 805 and parked it next to my Vulcan 750.
During the day he was bragging and saying how his bike would smoke my little 750, and how his is bored and supermodded to a 805 or something and my little 750 wouldn't keep up.

I tired explaining to him, that just cuz its a bigger cc engine doesn't mean its really much faster. I also ride/race quad atvs, and the Yamaha Raptor 660r and the new 700r is a much bigger heavier quad then the yamaha yfz450. The yfz450 is designed for the motocross track and the raptor is designed for the trails. In the quarter mile or hole shot, the smaller and quicker 450 will beat the bigger 660/700, but in the long stretch the raptor has a higher top speed, i think the raptor stock speed is like 72, while the 450 is like 68.

So he went on how he went to tech college for marine/small engines and he knows all about engines and stuff, and how he knows his 805 will smoke my 750.
I told him that if he did some research he would find out quickly that the vn750 is well known for being fast and leaving bigger bikes in the wind. He just laughed at me.
Anyway i am sick of this guy and need to put him in his place! lol

What are your opinions on this? A suzuki marauder 805 vs a kawasaki vulcan 750??