Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1994 VN750 frame but want a bigger engine. This is my first build project and my equipment/tool selection is very limited. How difficult(costly) would it be to put a '00 VN1500E engine in the VN750 frame? I dont mind paying to have someone weld for me but if it's too much hassle maybe I should just get a bigger frame?

·
Jack of all trades
2,863 Posts
Hey you can do anything with enough money. I think it would be more hassle than its worth but that's my $.02. You are taking about some major fabrication work just to mount the engine, then you have to worry about the drive train. IMHO you could just get a 1500 for less than it would cost to swap out.

But if you do it I would love to see it.

·
Git-R-Done!
282 Posts
Well, considering that you mentioned that your tool selection is very limited, I would think it might not be the best idea - especially if it is your first build project. Like the other poster said, there would be a LOT of things that would probably have to be modified.

Of course, if you have the desire, motivation and persistence, anything can be done, so don't let that stop you! Best of luck whatever you decide to do. And yeah, if you do go through with it, please post pics : )

AZ Kev

·
Registered
659 Posts
You just need to find an old mid-90's BUBF!

·
Registered
748 Posts
You just need to find an old mid-90's BUBF!
But ya can't have mine!

Seriously, don't think it'll work. The earlier 1500A (BUBF) engine won't fit; the rear cylinder head interferes with the frame, the driveshaft would have to be modified to fit the 750 final drive cuz the 1500A final won't fit the 750 frame, and a myriad other reasons. Could it be done with the earlier engine? Yeah, but not with basic tools and a limited shop.

Like Joe said; get a '95 or earlier 1500A and fix it up, it'd be cheaper--and faster than that 1500E engine.

Jim

·
Premium Member
1,766 Posts