Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2005 750 does not like to start. In fact it doesn't start a lot of the time, especially when I haven't ridden for a while, but also in-between services. When I choke it all the way, it acts like it doesn't even want to start. When I choke it half-way, it turns over, but doesn't catch. When I do get it to start up, it usually backfires. But it also backfires a lot when I take the throttle off on a downhill to coast. I am not a hugely mechanical person (obviously), so I'm wondering if any of the Vulcan gurus have ideas on what the problem might be. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
and the Adventure Cycle
6,141 Posts
Hmm, what kind of battery do you have in it?

·
HAWK
2,576 Posts
I would start with checking the BAtt, go to a Maint free if you haven't done that.

·
Premium Member
3,505 Posts
Sounds like a good soaking with SeaFoam might be in order, and - correct me folks if a little learning has gone to my head - but an A/F screw adjustment? That much backfiring sounds like a lean mixture - way lean.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Up here in Vulcan country we use a marine product called Seafoam. Put some in your tank and it will clean out your carbs. Not sure where you would get it, perhaps a boat store?

Also, try a different battery, like a sealed battery. The electrical system on these bikes is lacking and it could just need more oomph to crank it and fire the plugs.

Backfiring could be a leaking intake. Spray some carb cleaner around the rubber boot between the carb and the engine. If there is any leakage, the rpms should increase (assuming it is running already).

·
Avid Rider
279 Posts
You can find Seafoam at most major auto parts stores, and it's great stuff to add to your tank on a monthly basis to keep things cleaned out.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Suggestion

Boy this situation sounds a little too familiar.....