Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
936 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So - what would everyone say makes a helmet 'visible'?

Bright colors like yellow and orange? Or the helmets with all kinds of stuff on them (designs)?

I'm still learning but it seems to me the solid blacks, whites, silvers, greys would all blend into the background.

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
I think brighter colors like white or hi-vis yellow. Designs just end up being a blur. And I say that having a skulls and bones design on my helmet. heh Sitting still, a design may get seen and even get you noticed if it's outlandish enough. But riding in traffic, if they can't see the entire bike and rider, the helmet probably makes little additional impact on you being seen.

But, the brighter your helmet is it can't hurt right?

·
Super Moderator
11,866 Posts
Yep, high Vis yellow, and bright white are the easiest to see in traffic. Graphics act like camouflage and shrink the outlines of the helmet.

Time of day matters too. A bright white helmet is easier to pick out in the mid day sun, where hi Vis yellow almost glows when suns near the horizon.

At night reflective striping is more important than color, but white will still be more noticeable than black.

I know folks make fun of those kids with the tall "Mohawk" hair things glued to the top of their helmets.... But it does get attention.;)

·
Registered
936 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I had the same thought about the mohawk things. I didn't think about the white being visible - I figured it would blend in the background during the daylight.

·
Linkmeister Supreme
7,960 Posts
Yep, high Vis yellow, and bright white are the easiest to see in traffic. Graphics act like camouflage and shrink the outlines of the helmet.

Time of day matters too. A bright white helmet is easier to pick out in the mid day sun, where hi Vis yellow almost glows when suns near the horizon.