Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all! I'm from Argentina, my english is poor and I hope you understand me.
One transistor (of the IC ignitor) brokes and I don't know how type is it, or code number, because it's erase. Somebody please can send me this info?

·
Premium Member
3,026 Posts
Best of luck. I don't know either. The igniter is the one super expensive electrical part on the VN750, and as far as I know, it is a sealed unit, and is not repairable. I'm an auto mechanic, and have "black boxes" fail constantly, but I just replace them. Unfortunately, if the igniter failed on my Vulcan, all I could do is replace it as well. I have seen used igniter units on eBay for WAY less than a new one, but with parts like that it is impossible to tell if they are any good until you install them. Jerry.

·
Sparky!!!
8,696 Posts
Jerry, The ignitor is repairable, but as with trying to find the diode information... the only way for me to figure it out is to open it up.

If man can make it, Man can repair it.

As for figuring out the right Transistor... which one is broken. how many are inside the igniter?

·
Premium Member
3,026 Posts
Jerry, The ignitor is repairable, but as with trying to find the diode information... the only way for me to figure it out is to open it up.

If man can make it, Man can repair it.

As for figuring out the right Transistor... which one is broken. how many are inside the igniter?
You could very well be right, I never really looked at it. Fortunately I've never had one fail. Is there a way to get them apart, or do you have to cut them open? I have found a lot of such parts completely molded into a solid block of epoxy. Jerry.

·
Sparky!!!
8,696 Posts