Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well, not sure I have seen this directly addressed here so gonna give it a go.

As I have said several times I am new to motorcycle riding. About 3 months under my belt. That said, I feel pretty dog on confident on my bike riding the turns and corners we have here when dry outside-there are actually some pretty good roads to ride if you know where to look.

But, I am leary of any turn-not matter how 'dull' or slight it may be when it is wet or I have just passed through water. I know the only REAL answer to these questions will be experience and all the other factors involved-tires, oil on the road, acceleration, braking, etc.-but I would love to get some ideas and opinions. I don't want to have to fall to learn the limits of my bike.

So-Just how good is the grip on this bike when cornering on wet stuff? I know it's good when dry and I have leaned mine over and almost scraped the footpeg (had a buddy following me just to see how close I was). But honestly, I am plumb scared:eek: when it comes to sharp turns or even turning at red lights when it is wet outside. Overly cautious might be a better description. Maybe it is an irrational fear, but I am scared I am going to 'eat it'.

So do you people have any input and/or videos that would help me and other riders that are specific for the 750?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
all traction (wet or dry) depends greatly on the tires on the bike. not just the brand, but the condition and age.
Agreed. Mine are pretty new and in good shape. But I was trying to get a 'general' idea of what to expect in turns when wet versus dry. Again, I know for a real answer it will come down to actually testing and seeing, but I am wary of pushing it too far as I stated in my OP. And who wants to ride around testing puddles and wet roads???