Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 162 Posts

·
Total Newbie
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What do we think the top end speed of our bikes are through turns of all degrees? In other words, how much can they take? I'm no daredevil, but I'm curious how much you folks push your bike.

Take, for instance, something like this: http://www.her-motorcycle.com/images/curves2.jpg

I was on something like that today and I took it around 50 mph when the thought occurred to me about how fast I could have taken it. I mean, there's a maximum amount one can lean a bike or a maximum force before the tires slip out and you low side. But then I think about motorcycle racing and they take some very fast turns.

·
Registered
322 Posts
Our bikes don't do so well in twisties because the foot pegs drag. Long sweeping curves must be what you mean and I am looking for any upcoming comments to focus on that. I'd kinda like to know what people have been getting away with myself!

·
2,519 Posts
You know this is a cruiser right? The limit is equal to your riding skills...

·
gun slinger
1,110 Posts
im limited by them darn pegs grinding on the turns lol

·
Super Moderator
11,860 Posts
You might have well asked "how hard do I squeeze the brake lever" lol

First, if your looking at your speedometer while going through a turn your doing it wrong already.

Every road and every turn are diffrent. You can hang off to the inside to counter the peg dragging problem but in general, you should only go as fast as you are comfortable with.

You can find your limits by taking the bike out onna closed track, but pushing it to it's limits on public roads is stupid and dangerous.

But to answer your question...55 mph. You should take all turns at 55 mph.;)

·
Total Newbie
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
shark88: Yeah, I know. I'm not trying to turn it into a sports bike. If I wanted one, would have bought one. I want a cruiser, but I also want to understand its limitations.