Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 92 vulcan and it had a broken throttle cable so i decided to go ahead and replace both cables and cable guides. While waiting for parts to come in I went ahead and took the old throttle guides and cables out but now im not sure where the cable end goes to which throttle plate, how the cable routing goes, or the correct way the cables go into the throttle. Im a full time car mechanic so taking apart something and letting it sit for a week or two before getting back to it has never been a problem for me but this is my first bike and i know next to nothing about bike and im really stumped. My second problem is i took the carbs and fuel tank off and now im not sure which fuel line goes where because half of them were missing. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

·
Premium Member
3,027 Posts
It would be nearly impossible to answer your questions without pictures, but if you are a mechanic, just look it over and it should eventually become obvious how it goes together. I run mine with only one throttle cable, the one that opens the throttle. The spring will close the throttle when you release the grip. I have heard several stories about the other cable sticking, making it impossible to close the throttle. If the "pull" cable breaks, the engine should go to idle. If it doesn't, there is always the kill switch.

·
Registered
106 Posts