Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 85 700 off ebay, and the only problem stated is that the tach needle bounces around and reads irregularly. I'm a car mechanic, and I don't know much about bikes (this will be my first). Does the tach get its signal off the ignition coil (-) terminal as a car would, or is it different? I'd assume the tach's probably just shot, but I'm pondering other possibilities also.

·
Registered
200 Posts
nitrofish420 said:
I just bought a 85 700 off ebay, and the only problem stated is that the tach needle bounces around and reads irregularly. I'm a car mechanic, and I don't know much about bikes (this will be my first). Does the tach get its signal off the ignition coil (-) terminal as a car would, or is it different? I'd assume the tach's probably just shot, but I'm pondering other possibilities also.
Nitro...welcome!
IIRC, the tach gets it readings from the coils, thru the igniter box which is behind the right side cover, behind the battery.
Are you experiencing any other symptoms?? ...hesitation on the throttle, lack of power in one cyl, or not being able to rev past, say 3000rpms??
Could be the coils or the igniter also....

·
Search Goddess
2,002 Posts
"I'd assume the tach's probably just shot, but I'm pondering other possibilities also."

You know, strangely enough I have not heard of a Tach being shot.. I've heard of problems in other areas making the tach appear to be wacko though.
One that come to mind is a sticky kickstand switch (Though usually hand-in-hand with this is that bike just stalls when you put it in gear.
I'd check out the coils and see if the problem could be there. Chances are with an 85 you are still looking at the originals..
I'd go with jm1515 on the checking out coils and igniter

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #4