Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone have any particular plans for riding this summer?

I'm riding a Varadero now - have about 4400 km on it. August 7-21 I'm riding down to Ontario to visit my parents. I plan to ride east into Saskatchewan and then cut down through Weyburn into N. Dakota, Minnesota to Milwaukee, take the ferry across into Michigan and then cross back at Sarnia.

In October I'm taking 3 weeks off and riding down to SoCal where a friend has a house. My wife will fly down to meet me there, We'll spend a week there and return the same way we came.

·
Registered
6,446 Posts
I don't have any long trips planned but I'm in the middle of relocating. Do you mind if I ask what you do for a living that you can take 3 weeks off to go touring? That's relatively unheard of down here unless you quit and get another job when you get back. Most of us don't get 3 weeks vacation in a year and if we do, we prolly ain't takin' it all at once. Just curious...

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've been self-employed one way or another since 1992. For the past 8 years I've been in a business with a partner so we can cover each other for longer periods than we could if we each were running it alone.

I have a high need for autonomy. As scary as it was to go on my own, it was the best decision I ever made. It took me 18 years to realize that if I wasn't really happy as an employee, I should try to change my circumstances rather than keep trying to change myself.

·
Linkmeister Supreme
7,960 Posts
Hey Phil, it is good to hear you are racking up some miles on your new Varadero. After your wreck last summer where the Vulcan was totaled and you both were banged up so bad, I wondered if you would be riding this year. I`m glad to know you are enjoying it again, although it is entirely understandable that D. is not ready to ride yet.