Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Quick question. I am replacing the connections on the stator to rectifier (the yellow wires). I have some bullet connectors from Radio Shack. Will those work for that or do i have to have a special kind? I was going to use them, then seal them with heat shrink tape.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Old Truck Junkie
4,133 Posts
U can accually solder the wires together for a better connection. And use heat shrink for insulation.

·
..have a vulcan good day!
4,508 Posts
Quick question. I am replacing the connections on the stator to rectifier (the yellow wires). I have some bullet connectors from Radio Shack. Will those work for that or do i have to have a special kind? I was going to use them, then seal them with heat shrink tape.

I have no experience with them on the stator wires, how well will they stand up to the heat ? .....many VN owners prefer to solder the connections, insulate with Heat Shrink tubing.

:smiley_th

·
Registered
8,253 Posts
I think they're easier to get to if you pull the coolant tank.

·
Registered
3,353 Posts
If you use bullets...they should be soldered to the wires, other wise don't bother. It just adds places for the connection to corrode, heat up , and fail.

EDIT: I wouldn't trust anything Radio Shack sells...JMO you would probably be better off soldering them together and heat shrinking it.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I will solder them and heat shrink them thanks everybody

·
Banned
10,354 Posts
Might wanna go up one gauge in wire too...them things are aweful thin.

·
Registered
8,253 Posts
I think they're easier to get to if you pull the coolant tank.
I don't k ow why folks keep saying that. The coolant tank is on the other side of the bike!?