Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey y'all. It's been a while!

I put my bike up early last year. I had some problems with the headlight flaking out once in a while, then often, then.... no headlight..... then the bike wasn't charging. CRAP!

Looking on here, it looks like the headlight is fired off one leg of the stator. That makes sense according to what happened to me, but I don't see it in the schematics. I'll assume that's correct.

The REAL problem: I checked the VR according to my Clymer manual. BAD.
I checked the stator, OPEN!? I pulled the cover off the side of the engine, it looks like the wiring totally melted down :( It's real bad man. The yellow wires burned to a crisp, and the copper wound on the stator burned open in places.

I can purchase a stator and VR.... I've been saving money for it a couple months now, but I sure don't want to pop my new parts. I can't figure out why they went out in the first place. I'm also assuming the new stator and VR will fix my headlight too.

Any suggestions what would cause a melt down? Any on how to make sure I don't smoke the new parts if I can't find a problem?

I'm also trying to find a way to replace the stator without pulling the motor, but I haven't found that yet.

This sucks man!!!

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oh, I had recently replaced the battery with a new sealed battery before the blowout.... Other than that, just been ridin' her. She's stock through and through.

·
Premium Member
5,236 Posts
Oh, I had recently replaced the battery with a new sealed battery before the blowout.... Other than that, just been ridin' her. She's stock through and through.
just do a thorough inspection of your wiring to make sure you have no,shorts or grounded wiring,The stator and r/r are probably the weakest part of an otherwise great motorcycle so this is not an unusual situation.

·
Linkmeister Supreme
7,960 Posts
Welcome back spiral 72.