Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Total Newbie
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not sure what else to add to the title of my post - it explains it all - but I guess I'll elaborate.

I roll out into first and try to shift up into second and it's totally stuck. I drive a little in first with a line of traffic up my ass (I don't blame them) and I try again. Sometimes it goes on the second attempt; other times it takes a third or fourth or fifth. Sometimes it slips easily into second once it finally goes; other times I fight with it. There seems to be no rhyme or reason. Second to third? Fine! Third to fourth? No problemo! Fourth to fifth? Like butter. And downshifting? Smoother than a baby's bottom. And then it happens all over again. But, not every time - just enough to keep me guessing. I'd say maybe 25% of the time.

So? Any ideas?

·
If only it had 6th gear..
1,100 Posts
When it acts up do you end up in neutral? or it won't come out of first gear till you stop again? there's a check ball that is proprietary to Kaw which is part of the positive neutral finder and it causes the bike to only go from neutral into 1st gear when not moving (or very slow I'd guess). You might have some crap in there causing the ball to stick sometimes. Maybe pour some seafoam in the crank case and run it for a bit then change the oil. MC trannies definitley have noticeable behavior changes with different oils, new oil, old etc. It's the only thing I can think of but I'm sure others will help too. You might want to search for positive neutral finder in the forums. Hope you get it resolved

·
Total Newbie
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3