Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Mississippi Rider
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got tired of looking at that factory seat and I printed a couple photos off here of some mods other people had done and took them to a local custom shop and see what they would charge. They wanted a 140 bucks. So last night I just decdied to try it myself. I have no experience but I think it turned out ok looking. :hitanykey

Attachments

·
Registered
60 Posts
Do you have more info on how you did it? Where did you get the material and I am assuming it cost less than the $140 to have someone else do it.

-Eric

·
Linkmeister Supreme
7,960 Posts
That is a smooth clean line you have going there. Good work. Hope it is comfortable. :)

·
Registered
140 Posts
VERY nice!! And fror a 1st timer you'd never know it! As others have suggested HOW you did it would be very helpful.

·
Mississippi Rider
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
not that much to do really. I didnt take any additional pics but there are plenty of guys on here who have...thats where i got the idea. When you take the vinyl off and see how the seat is foamed you will see how easy it is. Really all you have to do is remove a piece of foam padding then shave the left side down to match the right. The right side will already have the scooped out shape. I cut it with a box cutter razor knife which left the foam in rough shape. I tried to shave it neater and sand it but wasnt very successful so I just took it down a little more and put a piece of half inch foam over the whole seat, but you could use quilt batting or any kind of padding. This would be when you would add a gel pad if you wanted. Then I got a half yard of outdoor black vinyl and covered it. Whole project went in for under 20 bucks but I still havent decided how I am going to mount the seat.

Attachments

·
Mississippi Rider
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #7