Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to the road, 6 months and counting. ;)

So my question is, what's your best safety tip? What helped you out when you first started riding?

I feel like I've learned a lot just from the experience but I'm sure I've got a long way to go before I know more than the average bear! I did take the MSF course, if that counts for anything. :p

·
MANIC MECHANIC
943 Posts
pay attention to everything

·
Rogue Warrior
130 Posts
Basics! Take a safety course.

And of course, stay alert, like Joe said...ALWAYS pay attention.

·
Premium Member
4,778 Posts
Get David Hough's book, Proficient Motorcycling. Read it before every riding season. Go online and search for motorcycle safety tips, there are hundreds of very good ones, like this site: http://www.motorcyclecruiser.com/streetsurvival/0702_crup_motorcycle_safety/index.html

The single best tip I have to offer is one I picked up online for tailgaters. Extend your left arm down and slowly "wave" the tailgater back a couple of times. If they back off, give them a thumbs up to thank them. If they don't, when it is safe to do so, pull over and let them by. Do not give them the "alternate biker's wave" as they pass, no matter how much you feel they deserve it!

·
Cruisin' through my 50's
115 Posts
1) Expect the vehicles around you to not see you, and think about what you'll do if they do their worst.

2) Don't ride faster than you feel is safe. Lots of new riders get involved with group rides or have friends that have much more experience riding. New riders go out and ride with others and feel like they need to ride faster or closer together to keep up.

3) And everything else that people have said

·
Registered
292 Posts
Always have an escape route planned

·
Registered
89 Posts