Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off let me say thanks to all who contribute their knowledge here, I am a new member and this kind of stuff really helps out a guy like me. I have a 97 VN 750 with about 23K miles. The guy I bought it from said it would run like crap sometimes, but then would be great. It ran great for me the first two weeks I had it, then I couldnt keep it running, then it would be fine. I have added Seafoam and am currently running that in the tank right now, is there any other obvious things I should be checking??? I am new to motorcycles but not new to working on engines so any info would be great.

·
Concert connoisseur
2,231 Posts
what year bike? I just replaced a couple vacuum lines on my 86= big difference.

·
Premium Member
1,803 Posts
I would first check the color of the sparkplugs to determine how the carbs are working. They should be light tan or grey. If one or both are black or wet you are running too rich. You may need to adjust the air/fuel mixture. You may have weak plugs or a bad spark plug wire. Iridium plugs work great. The good then bad condition could be a sticking carb float, flooding one carb. If you switch gas stations you may be getting moisture in the gas from one of them. These are my obvious first looks.

·
Linkmeister Supreme
7,960 Posts
If you do need new plugs, get the NGK Iridium DPR7EIX-9.

When you need a new battery get a Maintenance Free- AGM.
This Deka is a good one:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Deka-ETX15L-Powersports-AGM-Battery-100-NEW-/270282472155?cmd=ViewItem&pt=Other_Vehicle_Parts&hash=item3eee173adb

The next thing to do after getting the engine running properly is check and lube your rear splines before riding too far.
See fergy`s spline lube link here:
http://www.vn750.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17274

Since you are new to wrenching on motorcycles this link may interest you:
http://www.dansmc.com/MC_repaircourse.htm :)

·
Registered