Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

A little backstory, bike is an '02, 22k miles. I have owned it for about 10 months, my first bike. I Did the ear shave a couple of weeks ago and now its not running the same. (Ran like a BOSS before that). It stumbles when I am cruising in 5th and go 1/2 to WOT. That's pretty normal after an ear shave from what I can gather with all the reading on here I have done so far. If I do a long pull through the entire power band in each gear, I am kissing >80 mph before I even get to 5th. So the 'ole girl still has power for days. (and no stumbling when I do this) The carb vent hose is in dead air up in the frame (went with the easy solution first.) I guess I am just wanting confirmation that a rejet is in order? I am new to bikes, but I learn fast. This forum is a god send!

·
Registered
719 Posts
I did an ear shave on my first bike and went with 40/140 jets and no shims on the needles. I was running stock exhaust with mufflers removed and goats belly (crossover chamber) still intact.

As for the vent hose, the best place to put it is on the spare fitting on the underside of the gas tank (not the fitting on the back of the tank). It's hard to know what's truly dead air on this bike!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have k&N filters on there, but I was stupid and ordered the wrong part number. So I have them "shed boy" (jerry rigged) fitted on the original inlet hoses, but just sticking out the side. I have a feeling this is giving me a lean condition in the front cylinder at highway speed, because it's basically acting as a ram air.

·
Registered
9,465 Posts
What rpm are you at when you start to get the stumble?

Sounds like maybe a bad transition from the pilots to the mains, depending on the rpm where it begins.

Have you checked the plug color?

Might try adding a shim to the slide needles and work up from there.

·
Registered
719 Posts