Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
since this 2005 vn750 is my first motorcycle, i'm pretty new to riding and it doesn't help that i've never driven a car that wasn't an automatic. I've looked around the forum and couldn't really find anywhere that says what the top speed of each gear is. so I'm just wondering at what speeds and rpms should I be shifting gears. sorry if this sounds like a dumb question.

·
Jesus-Family-Coffee-Bike
95 Posts
hmmm... a great question in my opinion.

I'm in the same boat... just got my bike a couple months ago and have never consistently driven a manual either! When I'm cruisin I usually shift between 3 and 4,000 RPMs... when I'm trying to accelerate hard, I usually push it as high as 5. Any advice from you non-newbies out there would be very helpful!

·
Registered
401 Posts
First their are no dumb questions. A few dumb answers and some dumb looks, but those are free. Most shifting speeds are preferencial. Hot doggers will run their rpms up to the 5K - 7K range. Others, like me prefer to make shifts in the 3K - 4K range. Also if you have the owners manual it will be in there.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
well, I definitely don't have the owners manual for it, haha. I've been shifting around 4500 to 5000 rpms. is this bad for the engine? or does it reduce my mpg? what rpm is normal cruising speed? i'd really like to get the best mpg I can and put as little strain on my engine as possible. thanks for the help guys.

·
Old Truck Junkie
4,133 Posts
If you don't get into the red all the time you will not hurt this engine. I have run into the red every once in a while. But it is not some thing that you want to do often. So 6, 7, or even 8k's is okay, again I would not do that all the time.

·
Registered
401 Posts