Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,027 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is yet another reason not to use pod filters. Most of my tuning experience has been with carbureted American car engines, I have very little experience with bikes, especially street bikes. I've always known that pod filters let a lot more dirt through, but here is something else I never even thought of, regarding their use on newer motorcycles. This is a post from another forum, form someone who does know something about motorcycle tuning.

"The big issue is that most carbureted bikes from the '80s on up, uses Constant Velocity carbs. The throttle controls only a butterfly valve. The slide and jet needle, which affect air flow and fuel metering, operate by a vacuum diaphragm that is controlled by negative pressure within the carburetor throat (venturi). It's a clever design, intended to keep the engine from bogging when the throttle is whacked open, but it's designed to work as a system with the airbox. So, switching to pod filters not only affects the fuel flow through the pilot and main jets, but also throws the slide calibration out of whack. Good luck trying to retune to compensate for all of that"

·
Premium Member
5,236 Posts
Here is yet another reason not to use pod filters. Most of my tuning experience has been with carbureted American car engines, I have very little experience with bikes, especially street bikes. I've always known that pod filters let a lot more dirt through, but here is something else I never even thought of, regarding their use on newer motorcycles. This is a post from another forum, form someone who does know something about motorcycle tuning.