Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

You guys have all been lifesavers in the past, and I am eternally grateful of your help.
But, unfortunately, I've run into more tribulations with this wonderful '86 VN750 of mine.
Today I was sitting out in front of my college dorm washing/waxing the bike and winking at the girls walking by, and I decided to spray degreaser all over the engine to shine it up. It worked, but I think I messed something up. It ran and started perfectly before I did this.

Now it will turn over maybe one weak time and then flicker and click when I hit the starter. I bounce started it and took it for a 20 minute ride to see if I could just charge the battery up with the stator, but it still will not start. What do you all think the problem could be? Could water/degreaser have leaked into the stator case?
I am still learning with all of this. Any ideas?

·
Registered
2,687 Posts
Weak battery... you should get it tested and/or charge it separately.

I had a nice automatic trickle charger for such occasions. Might be something you would want to buy just in case.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was thinking this too, but I just replaced the battery last year! It was working fine and starting up well before I washed it today.

·
Prowling Tiger
2,048 Posts
I don't believe the battery is your issue. My guess would be water got where it shouldn't. I've sprayed my bike down at a car wash with no ill effect. Although, I am careful as to how long I leave the water going on the motor. I'd bet you have water bridging a connection somewhere. Leave the bike out in open air for a while and see if it doesn't start working for you. Or, jump start it and go for another ride. One long enough to get the engine nice and warm. If the bike was suffering from a poor battery, then the engine would be experience spark problems while running.