Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Preface: I'm new to motorcycles. The VN750 is my first bike. Had one owner and is in very good condition from all appearances. I'm mechanically inclined and while I don't have a lot of garage space, I am likely to try DIY unless it's too risky.

My VN750 does a few interesting things, possibly all related.
1. Some times it won't start while in gear and the clutch is disengaged. The starter button literally does nothing. Once I put it in neutral, it starts right up (happened at a light, ouch).
2. When I am able to start my bike in gear, the ignition process makes the bike lurch, like it's a little bit in gear? I know that sounds absurd.
3. When I am able to start the bike in gear, I can feel it's costing the starter a greater effort to turn the bike over than it does when the bike is in neutral. Again, absurdity.
4. The friction zone of my clutch handle is way out at the end, right before the clutch is fully engaged (and my hand is off the lever). The one shop I had look at it said that's just the way this bike is and they couldn't adjust it, which seemed odd to me.

Any advice or suggestions are welcome.

·
Premium Member
1,304 Posts
There’s a switch in the clutch handle that locks out the starter if the bike is in gear. Mine works intermittently at best, by that I mean sometimes I can start the bike just by hitting the starter with the bike in neutral and the side stand down, sometimes the start button will do absolutely nothing until I pull in the lever.

Secondly for the last couple points it sounds like your clutch is out of alignment. There’s 3 points you can check,
There is a rib on the crankcase that should line up with the groove on the pinch bolt where the cable connects to the clutch near the oil sight glass. Then there are the two span adjusters, one at the clutch lever itself and one midway down the clutch cable along the tube of the frame.