Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
936 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just thought I'd share - whether you care or not :)

I have been riding with an el' cheapo mesh jacket for a few years now. Some time ago I decided that when I get a new jacket it would be the Olympia Moto Sports Airglide 4 jacket. I've been putting it off for quite some time now due to the cost.

Yesterday I found a guy on craigslist selling the jacket in my size for a great price. And it's almost brand new - he got it as a gift and only wore it once - turned out not to fit him well. So I quickly snagged it up.

Haven't got to wear it while riding yet but looking forward to it (as much as one can I guess).

Just wanted to share :blah:

·
1986 VN750
3,255 Posts
Really nice. I need a new summer jacket. I don't trust the crappy BiLT one I picked up a few years back during a heat spell, and my black leather makes me sweat instantly.

·
Super Moderator
11,825 Posts
I have a Firstgear mesh jacket. I know the material is not the best (it's a polyester) but I kinda look at most mesh jackets as just a shell to hold the armor. I have replaced the armor with better 3 layer CE approved stuff.

I do have some Motoport Kevlar mesh gear...but it's not as cool on hot days as the FG jacket, and it's bulkier and heavier. Yeah, I know, it's not going to help you if you don't wear it, but sometimes you have to make that choice between comfort and overall safety. Ditto with my mesh pants...I know I should wear the Kevlar stuff, but staying cool and comfortable trumps the full protection...and I'm still better off than just wearing plain blue jeans.

The Motoport jacket is claimed to provide more protection than competition grade leather...

http://www.motoport.com/index.php?option=com_redshop&view=product&pid=15&cid=27&