Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!!

Proud new owner of a brand new 1986 Vulcan 750 here 馃槃

A little about myself - I am a 28 year old HVAC technician living in Southern New Jersey. Right across the bridge from Philadelphia. I've been riding motorcycles for about 10 years now, my parents raised me to be a Harley guy. Deep down I'm probably still a Harley guy, but I've diversified my tastes over the years and have become a general motorcycle enthusiast. I have little to no experience working on motorcycles other than your basic simple fixes. I've never really fabricated anything before, and i have zero experience welding or anything like that. I do consider myself mechanically inclined since being an hvac tech, i do turn wrenches and work on machinery for a living. I just work on a different kind of machine.

A little about the bike - like i said, it's A 1986 Vulcan 750, it belongs/belonged to a good friend (still need to transfer the title over) The original owner was our high school wood shop teacher. He used to ride with his son, but the son passed away and he gave up riding after that. My friend kept in touch with our teacher after high school and worked for him doing small odd jobs here and there. Eventually our teacher gave him the bike for working for him. Years later, the bike ends up getting stored in my garage since my buddy was moving and had nowhere to put it at the time. About 2 more years go by, the bikes still in my garage, hadn't been turned on in God knows how long. I've been looking at this bike, seeing all kinds of potential to build something spectacular out of it. Last week, i asked my buddy if i could buy it off him and he said i could just have it. Sweet!