Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm pretty new in the bike world, this question maybe dumb but I gotta ask. How do I know what shocks are right for my bike. Never replaced them and just got the bike after 10 years of sitting. When I ride and hit s bump I feel like my back is gonna break. There is no suspension in the shocks at all is what it feels like. So I want to get new shocks but have no idea what I'm doing. Help?

·
Super Moderator
12,072 Posts
Shocks are sold by length, spring rate, and what type of mount your bike uses.

Most Japanese bikes use "eye" mounts...meaning each end of the shock has an "eye" that slides over a frame mounted stud.
Depending on what you weigh, what extra weight you plan on adding, and if you have a passenger or not, is how you figure out what spring rate you will need.
Most aftermarket shock makers have guides to help you on what spring to use.

The stock Vulcan 750 had 12.5" length shocks (measured eye center to eye center)

So, first, how much do you and whatever luggage you plan on adding weigh? What type of roads do you have to deal with? And, most importantly, how much do you want to spend. Decent shocks can cost from $200 up to $700.

I found a pair of slightly used Progressive 412 shocks for about $120. But new they are about twice that. Check out Progressive, Work Performance, and Hagon's web sites to see what's available and at what cost.

·
FREEBIRDS MC CENTRAL NY
16,334 Posts
what is the adjustable damper on the top set on?

Sent from my LGL34C using Tapatalk

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So i can't see what the damper is set on wether 1-2-3-4 I can't see those marking, Also, I have no idea if these even have oil and air in them. I feel every bump. All together I think I will load it up to about 250 lbs. it's so damn stiff..

·
FREEBIRDS MC CENTRAL NY
16,334 Posts
try turning the top to see if it moves.

·
FREEBIRDS MC CENTRAL NY