Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok first off i'm new to this so I will try to put everything I know maybe someone can help (It would be very much appreciated)
I picked up an 89 Vulcan 750 a couple of weeks ago and it had been sitting for a while so after i cleaned the carbs and the replaced needle valve, it fired up.
Now the problem is rear right plug is not sparking, I swapped plugs and the same thing.My question is if my igniter is bad would all the other plugs work

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also to ad my old regulator wasn't charging so i bought a used one off of ebay not it only put out just barley over 12v, the battery is new too.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Also to ad my old regulator wasn't charging so i bought a used one off of ebay now it only puts out just barley over 12v, the battery is new too.

·
Old Truck Junkie
4,133 Posts
When making test make sure that the batt has plenty of power. It looks like to me that you may have a bad coil.

·
Registered Badass
102 Posts
Somewhat off topic but I'd highly suggest cleaning out the gas tank if you haven't done so already. That tank could be full of terror. The carb cleaning will be a waste if it get's full of goo again.

These bikes have two coils. One in the front (under the left plastic panel) and one in the rear just in front of the battery.
Someone correct me if I'm wrong but if one of the coils was bad I think he'd lose spark on two plugs, not just one. Might just be a bad wire/connection.

·
Sparky!!!
8,697 Posts
you can have a bad coil that only sparks on one side.. this would happen if the wire inside the coil is damaged between left and right plug wires

·
Premium Member
3,027 Posts
Sounds like either a bad coil or a bad wire. If you switch the wires on the coil, and the same plug doesn't fire, it is the coil.