Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Wareagle1970
Joined
·
409 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
*** Sorry, thought I messed up the first posting... Please Disregard.... ***

Okay, so I finally got around to lubing my trottle cables. Took the cables loose from the throttle grip lubed per Jason and KM's suggestions
now here is where the rookie question/mistake comes in... Do you turn the throttle grip where the eyelets of the throttle grip where the ends of the throttle wire connect pointed up or down?
In other words, do you end up routing each of the throttle wires around the handle bar and inserting them into the throttle grip eyelets from the top or the bottom?

All help would be greatly appreciated!!!
Steven
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,958 Posts
First off, not sure why you started another thread asking the same question....


And 2ndly , not sure what you are asking here anyway. The cables definitly go under the bars. Just put them back the way they were before.......ah...next time when removing stuff off the bike take notes...or a photo...to help you when replacing them. I just drew a sketch usually.

Anyway the cables come out from the tank neck area, and loop back to the grip..... The "wires" should go under the bars too....if that is what you meant, (was not sure if you were calling the cables "wires) sorry.

KM
 

·
Wareagle1970
Joined
·
409 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry KM. Put on my 2nd post that I only posted twice because I thought the first one didn't go through...

Okay, so you are sitting on the bike. The throttle grip itself (with the cables disconnected) should be put on the handle bars with the two holes that the cables connect to underneath the handle bar, not on top? Then connect the two cables to the throttle grip underneath the handle bar?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
738 Posts
This is for anyone else thinking of lubing cables, but do NOT want to pull cables; Dri Slide's Bike Aid.

It is a dry moly/graphite lube that comes with a very fine needle applicator. No need to remove the cables. Just insert the needle applicator between the cable and sleeve and slowly squeeze. You're done when it drips out the other end of the cable. Dri Slide can be found in most motorcycle (including most HD shops), online and bicycle shops for about $14. Enough to last several seasons and you can lube all the cables in a just a few minutes.
 

·
Wareagle1970
Joined
·
409 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
wish I would have known about that product before I removed the throttle cables from the throttle grip. But, I didn't so would greatly appreciate some help getting these cables back on the throttle grip correctly..

And Chris, I will be buying some of that stuff asap!!!
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,958 Posts
Sorry KM. Put on my 2nd post that I only posted twice because I thought the first one didn't go through...

Okay, so you are sitting on the bike. The throttle grip itself (with the cables disconnected) should be put on the handle bars with the two holes that the cables connect to underneath the handle bar, not on top? Then connect the two cables to the throttle grip underneath the handle bar?
Yes and yes.

And as far as I know... You do still need to pull the cables off the throttle tube to lube them properly.


KM
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
900 Posts
*** Sorry, thought I messed up the first posting... Please Disregard.... ***

Okay, so I finally got around to lubing my trottle cables. Took the cables loose from the throttle grip lubed per Jason and KM's suggestions
now here is where the rookie question/mistake comes in... Do you turn the throttle grip where the eyelets of the throttle grip where the ends of the throttle wire connect pointed up or down?
In other words, do you end up routing each of the throttle wires around the handle bar and inserting them into the throttle grip eyelets from the top or the bottom?

All help would be greatly appreciated!!!
Steven
I think I understand what he is asking here... what cable goes to what?..push pull...the one on the outer hole (farthest from you) goes to pull or giving it gas.. the hole closest to you is the push cable, it closes/shuts down the gas... on the carbs.. the pull cable is the one that opens the carbs for gas.. the push closes it.. if your looking at the carb connections and where they go on the cable holders.. pull is on the bottom push is on the top... as you are placeing the cables next to the bike body the pull cable will be on the bottom and then cross over the pull cable... its much easier to reconect the cables with the carbs off... make since?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
900 Posts
and yes .. the only way to hook them up to the throttel assy is on the bottem.. with the buttons and switch faceing you while sitting on the bike.
 

·
Wareagle1970
Joined
·
409 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
and yes .. the only way to hook them up to the throttel assy is on the bottem.. with the buttons and switch faceing you while sitting on the bike.
Thanks for your help!!! I knew what I was wanting to ask, but couldn't put it in words. Will connect the cables with the holes that connect to the throttle grip on the bottom of the handle bars.

I appreciate your patience...

And KM, nice profile picture? Anyone you know???
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,958 Posts
And KM, nice profile picture? Anyone you know???
Yeah ...just an old fading notch from the bed post...........


Seriously....just a photo I always liked. She is on loan from being my
Avatar at the FJR Forum. I'll switch to her temporary replacement there tomorrow.


KM
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,778 Posts
You can use oil to lube the cables very easily. Disconnect the upper end and let gravity do the rest. Gets lube the entire length of the cable.

I'm assuming you know the plastic bag applicator method.
 

·
Wareagle1970
Joined
·
409 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Did indeed use the plastic bag applicator method and it worked quite well. My new problem is trying the reattach the push and pull throttle cables to the throttle tube/sleeve. Would be great if someone had some pictures of how the cables should be reattached. I ended up breaking the front eyelet where the cable attaches.. Now I'm really in trouble...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,778 Posts
IIRC, there is only one way to attach the cables. Top cable on top and vice versa. Or are you talking about where they attach to the carbs?
 

·
Wareagle1970
Joined
·
409 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
no, I am talking about attaching the cables to the throttle grip. Could not remember if you attached them to the throttle grip with the eyelets above or below the handlebar. KM told me you attach them with the eyelets of the throttle grip on the bottom of the handlebars. Tried that but the cable closest to you (don't know if this is the push or pull cable) has a lot of slack. I thought I remembered both being really snug when I removed them.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,778 Posts
If my memory is right the top one goes over the handlebar and the lower under. That's the only way they're gonna work as a push/pull system
 

·
Wareagle1970
Joined
·
409 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
by top and lower is the top the accelerator and bottom the decelerator? And it sounds like you are saying that the eyelets on the throttle sleeve should be facing forwards when you try to reinstall the cables?
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top