Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I noticed that a lot of people here name their bikes, and it is completely new to me. It was a bit ironic, I was listening to NPR's Car Talk podcast from Saturday, and they were discussing this very topic.

I've never named a vehicle before, but it somehow seems natural to want to name the Vulcan. So for those of you who have named them, how did you come up with a name? I find the entire concept fascinating. I'm a Unix/Linux system admin by trade, and it kind of reminds me of the naming conventions that we Unix guys use to name machines on our networks.

So what are everybody's thoughts on bike naming?

--Storm

·
Registered
139 Posts
Mine was easy to be honest. I bought my bike for next to nothing as it had been sitting for 2 years and the owner couldn't get it running. Due to the lenghty amount of time it sat, I had to replace numerous parts and since I was taking these parts from canibalized bikes on ebay and other places, I decided to name my frankenstein. Its alive!!!

·
and the Adventure Cycle
6,141 Posts
It took me over 5 years to come up with the name for my bike.
I wanted one that would truly fit me and the bike. After many, many fun filled, enjoyable, adventurous miles,
I finally had what I considered the perfect name...
"The Adventure Cycle"

Maybe not a typical type of name for a bike, but it is was it is!!
Now, if I could just get more time to ride it like I used to!!!!
I don't wanna work, I just wanna ride on my bike all day!!

·
Giggity!
4,307 Posts