Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a 86 Vulcan I bought it outta barn for 600$ It wouldn’t run. I used muriatic acid and got the rust out then I rebuilt the carbs and I specifically made sure the floats were free and I’ve ran it close to 100 miles and occasionally it starts flooding I got it to stop by hitting it with a screwdriver and it stopped but I think one of my problems is that the petcock won’t shut off ever, also it seems to be overheating at idle even though I did a coolant flush before even riding. And lastly it doesn’t want to start and cranks slow when warm but if I use a jump box I can get it started with a little work and unplugging the headlight. I just put a brand new battery in it and it was working fine but I think all the cranking killed it. I’m new to bikes and really just trying to figure it out but after putting in all the time I can the past couple weeks it’s really disappointing. Sorry the post is all over the place If anyone could give me some advice on these issues I think what I’m going to do about the petcock is to put inline switches on the fuel lines to the carbs because I don’t want to pay 120 for the oem petcock, and was thinking about running the with no thermostat so it doesn’t overheat any advice helps

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I’m really just trying to decide if I should keep working on the bike or just sell it and get something that isn’t so much a project

·
Premium Member
1,068 Posts
First off welcome to the forum,

2nd, these bikes are known to have hot start issues but before you look to tackle that you might want to double check if the charging system is working. If that checks out there is a mod to the pickup coils that can help with the hot start issue.