Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am doin a custom build on a 94 VN750 and im trying to figure out the bare minimums of the wiring harness. I am not going to run gauges, thermostats, or turn signals. I have some experience with a 454 LTD which is a similar harness. right now i have the ignition hooked up but nothing happens when i hit start, the solenoid doesnt click over but it will if the short it with a screwdriver. I have no power at the start switch, I think i have a bad fuse box? I have the following hooked up and the rest is not- ignition, CDI box, fuse box, rectifier, starter solenoid, coils & stator. I saw the post about testing the fuse box, I have battery voltage going in but not coming out of the 10pin connection. If thats bad i guess it would hinder spark because its not giving power to the CDI and coils?

·
Sparky!!!
8,697 Posts
took me a couple of days to work out all the kinks. But when I do it all over again to clean it up and make it look prety, it will take a couple of hours... I recomend buying several spools of various colored wire and building the harness from scratch, just re use the stock connectors to connect things like the JB, Igniter Box, and any other stock electrical item you are going to run.

one other thing I should mention is that I only used the ignighter box, all else has been scrapped to include the ignition switch, JB, RLU, and prety much every thing else you see missing

·
Banned
1,620 Posts
I believe slim has done just that. Looks like he replaced the JB with a "fuse box" with 'always on' and 'acc. on' fuses, and replaced the JB relays with standard automotive type relays.

·
Sparky!!!
8,697 Posts