Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so I feel like I've read through every thread on here about marbling, and the carb fuel adjustment screws. Here's what I did (the bike is pretty much stock, exhaust included):
-Marbled the two lines running to the emissions pod
-removed the vac line from the rear carb to the pod, capping both sides
-Adjusted each mix screw to 2.5 turns out.

Now, the idle is very inconsistent, fluctuating from about 1000 to 1200 back and forth. It sounds like the rear cylinder is missing most of its strokes. Adjusting the rear carb screw a full turn in either direction does not seem to affect the idle or inconsistency.

Note that this is my first time adjusting anything carburetor related - so if there is something obvious I missed, please let me know.

Thanks!!! Mark

·
Banned
10,354 Posts
Sound like a possible vacuum leak somewhere...do a smoke test on it with the engine running...also, spray a lil WD-40 on the carb to head boots...if the idle changes temp, you foud it....if the smoke sucks in, you found it....

You can try doing a backblow on the carbs too, but that (dirt) shouldnt cause fluctuation in idle....Im leaning towards a vac leak somewhere....

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the response... I'll give those two things a try tomorrow. Can marbling make carb problems more prominent?

I guess I should add the following to my timeline (forgot to specify):

-Bike was dumped on its right side from standing (girlfriend, haha)... it only laid on its side for a few seconds, but less than a cup of gas spilled from somewhere around the carbs
-started and idled fine an hour later... did not notice any odd idle, but then again I didn't check closely.

...4 days later...

-Marbled the two lines running to the emissions pod
-removed the vac line from the rear carb to the pod, capping both sides
-Adjusted each mix screw to 2.5 turns out.