Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Drive less, ride more...
1,114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As this Christmas approaches, I used some "alone" time to do a bit of soul searching.

While "searching", I realized that I have been riding street motorcycles for right at 5 years, as of this month.

During that time, I have done some things aboard a motorcycle that I am not proud of...:(. Nonetheless, I have otherwise tried to generally be a good rep for the rest of the motorcycling "family".

I have also been in 3 bike crashes....and (thank God!) was able to walk away from all of them. Obviously, it's been a very educational experience for me.

My biggest disappointment with the sport is of course the incredible amount of disrespect we still get from the non-riding public. Some of this disrespect certainly has been brought upon us by a "select few" (e.g., YouTube is full of examples of riders doing stupid things on motorcycles...:doh:). But I think the lion's share of this problem is that rookie (or other) cagers simply are not taught on any level how to look out for us or to be sure to give us the right of way when it is ours. Also: the legal penalties for wrongfully injuring or killing a motorcyclist certainly have no real teeth and thus there is no real deterrent for this offense. There are other factors at work here--but they are for another time and another thread (or even another forum).

Anyway....rather than sound like a know-it-all, or like I'm preaching a sermon (hey, too late, right?...:)...), I thought others here might be willing to share with the rest of the forum what he/she thinks is the most important lesson (of late) to pass on to others from his/her own riding experiences.

Anyone? Anyone?.....:beerchug:

·
Retired USAF (IYAAYAS)
674 Posts
My own is to simply recognize my own limitations, and mortality. I also discovered myself doing much more risk assessing than when I was a cager only.

·
Premium Member
5,236 Posts