Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Banned
10,354 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I never liked the motocross style armor for the street....IMO, when on the road, ya need full comfort so you can concentrate better....
Ive always worn leather....since the 70's...I still have my Perfecto by Schott jacket I had then (friends talked me into it)...its been down, bruised, blocked a knife, and saved my gut once....paid around $125 in '76 brandy new...I just checked, and used like this in great shape are selling for upwards of $500 !!!!
Id never sell mine....too many memories in it...but hey, quality leather appears to be an investment !....just a heads up to those considering all the new fangled stuff....

·
Jack of all trades
2,863 Posts
I agree with you that you need to be comfortable to be safe. A clear mind is a focused mind. I actually wear a very similar jacket, and have been since I started riding. Mine didn't cost quite so much, but I'm sure it isn't of the same quality either.

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
I too agree with being comfortable. That's why in Florida I can't imagine wearing leather. :) Textile mesh for me. I want protection but I don't want to be a puddle of sweat on my seat either.

·
Banned
10,354 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The Perfecto is horsehide, and is ultra thick...my cig pocket flap is gone....hanging on a Delta 88 in 1989...but it saved me....and roadrash is nuthin fer this thing, yet its comfortable as heck...
Im glad I dug it out today...shrunk a lil over the years, but I Neatsfoot oiled it and did some flexes....good as new....

·
Super Moderator
11,860 Posts
Leather has been used by bikers since day one and is hard to beat. Quality leather jackets of "motorcycle weight" (1.3-1.5mm thickness) provide the superior abrasion resistance.