Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Total Newbie
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it supposed to be harder to shift gears when you have more weight on the bike (i.e. two people instead of one)? Is that normal phenomenon? Or is something rotten in the state of my VN750?

·
Super Moderator
11,934 Posts
I don't think extra weight would make shifting any diffrent, but it matters how and when you shift.

I do know that sometimes because you have a passenger you tend to scoot farther forward on the seat and the slight change in position can make your foot less accurate moving the shift lever.

·
Total Newbie
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't think extra weight would make shifting any diffrent, but it matters how and when you shift.

I do know that sometimes because you have a passenger you tend to scoot farther forward on the seat and the slight change in position can make your foot less accurate moving the shift lever.
That could be. I'll pay attention to that next time. Thanks, Knifemaker. :smiley_th

·
Banned
10,354 Posts
...the only time it "might" make a difference is if it were chain or belt to the rear wheel (that changes belt/chain tension and may cause too much pull on the trans)....check your rear fluid and your engine/tranny oil...mebbe switch to a 20-50 if in warmer climes...
The VN with driveshaft, weight shouldnt matter, unless perhaps the splinelube is not done ?....

·
Linkmeister Supreme
7,960 Posts

X2 to KM^^^^

On a similar note, I have found myself short shifting once in a while since starting to ride again after a forced 4 year layoff. My left leg is half an inch shorter after my accident in June 2008, and the right leg a quater inch longer after a hip replacement a year ago. So now I have a 3/4" lift in the sole of my left shoe.