Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to bikes but I have some mechanical background. With the right instruction is changing tires something a guy can do himself? Or better taking them to the shop? I am replacing both the front and the rear. Special tools?? How do you balance them if needed?? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
192 Posts
I am new to bikes but I have some mechanical background. With the right instruction is changing tires something a guy can do himself? Or better taking them to the shop? I am replacing both the front and the rear. Special tools?? How do you balance them if needed?? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
Unless you have the right equipment to mount and balance, take them to a shop. You only have 2; a problem with just 1 could be disastrous.

·
Premium Member
120 Posts
Absolutely.

There are a number of good threads & how-tos on the net. If you have some mechanical background, some common sense, and a bit of stubbornness, you should be good to go.

I've never paid a shop yet to change my, or any of my friends tires. Zero prior experience and 7 sets of tires later, there's no way I'd go back...

That said, I do have a 20 to hydraulic press in the basement which makes breaking beads child's play, but I didn't for the first few sets and it was just as worth doing then as it is now. Get yourself some tire spoons/irons, do some homework on the research and give it a whirl. You might swear a little during the process, but you'll pay yourself on the back when it's over.

·
Young Gun
213 Posts
It's definitely doable. That said I thought I was stubborn enough to handle the task last year. I ended up takin em to a shop. Found one that would mount and balance each for about $25 a piece.

After swearing for quite a few hours it was worth it to me. Peace of mind too I guess.

·
Super Moderator
11,821 Posts