Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
441 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK.. we all know I'm a noob and i did not do well in electronics in scholl.. so here goes
I want to add running lights or a light bar. i understand there are extra leads in the headlight. Am i understanding it correctly that any lights that are added can go right to those leads and they are on with ignition??

If i want a handlebar switch.. does the switch go to those leads and then the lights are wired to the switch??

I have read around on a lot of the posts but i'm not following it all to well
I need something easy

·
Old Truck Junkie
4,133 Posts
I just got some lights for my honda. And the instructions had me get the current from the tach light wire. And then it runs through a switch. The leads in the head light bucket are always hot. If you forget to turn the lights off you came run the batt down.

·
Registered
191 Posts
Running lights can consume a lot of power. In my past life I ran Car stereo shops and did more fog,driving and running lights then I can count..

The best thing to do is run a (fused) line to the battery and have the switch run off a relay. I just added lights to my bike last week.. I was in walmart (of all places) and saw a set of lights that liked just right for a bike.. they cost less then $20 so I thought I would try them out..

I ran a wire from the battery to the headlight (btw keep the fuse as close to the battery as you can). the relay trigger came off the low beam so when I turn on the high the running lights turn off. You can basically run the lights relay off any switch
you want..

·
Registered
3,353 Posts
I just did this to mine. You can pm me if you need help.

The accessory leads in the headlight are always hot, so you need to run that through a relay to switch it on when the ignition is on.
The connections in the headlight bucket are actually a double bullet connector....meaning you can slide 2 bullet connectors into each lead.