Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Let me start with, hello from Massachusetts. First time owning a Vulcan, and seriously working on a motorcycle. I've been a backyard mechanic all of my adult life, but this bike is a little over my head right now. I didn't know what i was getting myself into.

so lets start with what i bought. an 02 vn750, that apparently the previous owner bought from a shop that did custom work...great. what i have in front of me is a bike where all the electrical, mounting locations, battery cage, has all been removed from stock location, above the goats belly. its just a spaghetti of wires. The R/R, reserve light unit, blinker relay, a Mitsubishi igniter box, and the junction box are all just hanging in the space there the battery is.

Yesterday (the day i bought it), when i first hooked a battery to it, i got absolutely nothing. I got power to the white wire at the key, and 2v coming out from the yellow, etc. at this point the blinkers started working, but after cycling the key a few times, they stopped working. Next, i pulled the key switch apart, cleaned and reassembled, and stopped for the night.

Today, i bought a new AGM battery and when i hook a battery to the bike, and turn the key on, I now get power at the key, and full 12v out to the ignition, and other wires. One problem seemingly solved.