Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok before you go making fun, I am a true newbie. so if I don't mention the correct name for a part don't laugh. I got a 1990 Vulcan 750. I always wanted a bike and this one came free from a client. I changed all the fluids - bought new air filters - bought carb boots. I had a fuel leak that was coming from the hoses on the carbs. fix that. removed mostly all the rust from various places. My current dilema is that now my fuel leak is coming from the left side of the air box. HOW AND WHY WOULD I BE GETTING GAS IN THE AIR BOX. Most important how do I make it stop.

·
Registered
399 Posts
My dad's 1986 did the SAME thing. The problem turned out to be, the Fuel petcock was shot, so it was ON PRIME all the time! the weight of the fuel in the tank caused it to slowly seep from sitting. it leaked into the FRONT cylinder and past the rings, and into the crankcase. there was about 1.75 gallons of oil/gas mix in there. We rebuilt the fuel tap. changed the oil. fresh filter. Ran it. and no problems since. i gauentee this is your problem. has the bike been sitting before you aquired it? cuz his was sitting for atleast a year with a leaky fuel tap.

·
Registered
399 Posts
And welcome to the forum!! Check in on the "newbie" forum. Tell us more aobut your bike! miles? mods? condition? Goodluck! hope i helped!

·
Headbanger/Popes of Hell
6,732 Posts
welcome to the madness! don't worry, nobody is going to laugh at you (only with you!). we have nothing but the best people on here that are willing to help you out with you bike or anything!

·
Registered
555 Posts
I agree it's the petcock

·
Registered
399 Posts
I'd start there man. Order the rebuild kit. Have it done in no time. and you should be on your way. However. make sure no gas gets into your crankcase. that could be VERYYYYY bad if it did and u didnt know. luckily we caught it before we road it.

·
Patriot Guard Rider
825 Posts

·