Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
1986 VN750
3,255 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ordered a nice relay kit off Amazon that included a 30/40A relay, 30A in-line fuse, and the connector for the relay with wires already ready to go. For the price I was pleased.

Now, I have zero electrical experience with diagrams and such, so I could use some help from you pros out there. I have a pic of the set, the top of the relay (diagram), the bottom of the relay (numbered posts), and the connector next to the relay showing what wire to what tab. I got two since I was going to run the ignition coils off of one, and the voltmeter off of the other. Should I just run them off the same relay, since the ignition coils are only 10A or so? More importantly, what goes where?

# - Color (Position based on image)

87 - Yellow (top)
86 - White (mid, left)
87a - Red (mid center)
85 - Black (mid right)
30 - Blue (bottom)

·
Banned
2,190 Posts
It appears to be a standard ISO relay.

30-aux power (bat?)
87-work (load)
86-switch power(orig coil wire ?)
85- grd

HTH....

edit-you are correct, 30 terminal would be a good place to power a voltmeter.

edit 2-87a (the center terminal) is not used, as it would power the 'work' when the switch (86) is off.

·
Registered
458 Posts
Here is the explanation of how this relay is going to work. Think of it this way, its just a switch. Instead of flipping the switch with your fingers (like a light switch)
Having a ground on 85 and power applied to 86 will cause the switch to flip. Both conditions for 85 and 86 have to be met for the switch to operate.

When looking at the diagram of the relay as it sits (no power) pins 30 and 87a will be connected. As soon as you have a ground on 85 and power to 86 pins 30 and 87a will open and 30 and 87 will be connected.
Imagine that the line connected to 30 going to 87a is now going to 87.

·
Banned
2,190 Posts
Yup.