Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was going to replace the interior liner and ear pads on my helmet and was told that if the helmet was older than five years I need to replace the helmet. I can get all the pads for $40.00, a comparable helmet is $200.00. I have been riding for over 40 years and have never heard this before. Is it the manufacture trying to sucker me into a new helmet? By the way my helmet is only six years old and I really like it. Just curious what other peoples opinions are.

·
Headbanger/Popes of Hell
6,753 Posts
here's what I found....

Why should you replace your helmet every five years?

The five-year replacement recommendation is based on a consensus by both helmet manufacturers and the Snell Foundation. Glues, resins and other materials used in helmet production can affect liner materials. Hair oils, body fluids and cosmetics, as well as normal "wear and tear" all contribute to helmet degradation. Petroleum based products present in cleaners, paints, fuels and other commonly encountered materials may also degrade materials used in many helmets possibly degrading performance. Additionally, experience indicates there will be a noticeable improvement in the protective characteristic of helmets over a five-year period due to advances in materials, designs, production methods and the standards. Thus, the recommendation for five-year helmet replacement is a judgment call stemming from a prudent safety philosophy.

this info is off of Snell foundation web site. so what it's worth, there you have it.

myself, I can not afford to go out every 5 years and throw down $300 on a new helmet. so my "old", 5 year + old helmet is just going to have to do. the way I see it is, even an "old" helmet is better than no helmet.

·
FREEBIRDS MC CENTRAL NY
16,245 Posts
I got **** from a friend for buying a $20 dot beanie at a yard sale.he asked me if I had a $20 head

·
1986 VN750
3,255 Posts