Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just a bit about myself and the project I have in my garage... I'm working on a 1991 VN750 and have discovered the shifter does not attach to anything inside... Looks like I'll be tearing this bike down and rebuilding it. I have found out the culprit is likely the rod between the shifter and transmission (I understand it is a common problem) and was wondering if the rod is actually supposed to be straight or bent? (I saw a pic in another thread that showed a broken bent rod) I should also state that I am a retired auto mechanic so wrenching on things doesn't scare me.

·
Registered
7,922 Posts
Welcome to the machine!

Yep, the internal rod should be be straight. Later models have a slightly larger diameter rod for strength.

·
2,519 Posts
Roach had some YouTube videos of the engine teardown. I watched all of them before I did mine.

·
Registered
7,922 Posts
Have no idea, been that way since I started looking. One piece at a time.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
You have to wonder about putting a spindly little rod like this deep inside of the engine... Didn't the engineers think some poor schmuck might have to replace it?

·
Registered
736 Posts
This kooky little engine was Kawi's first V-Twin for a cruiser if I recall correctly, and they designed it way back in the early 80's. There are a lot of headscratcher design choices, like the shifter rod you've got an issue with, and the inability to replace the stator without removing the engine, but they were able to squeeze some impressive performance out of a little 750cc engine, and made a pretty unique high-revving and smooth v-twin engine, and us poor saps are still riding them even 35+ years later, so they obviously did a couple things right too. 😁

Welcome to the forum. Your mechanical skills will be a huge asset owning one of these, shops don't like 'em. But once you've got it running it's a blast to ride

·