Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all. Just picked up my first bike about a month ago. Happened to be a 01 vulcan 750. I gotta say it's great riding a bike around for a change. I'm used to riding motorized bicycles when I was younger. I come from the world of automotive mechanics, so it kinda gave me a leg up on bike mechanics. Definitely was a smooth transition. I got the bike with 20k miles on it. Put about 2k on it so far.

Recently I did the so called "Grambo" trick, thanks to all you guys from the forums making that info available for me, my timing chains are no longer slapping. Although I plan on buying the 20$ toc springs for them soon. I will be posting a video of how to do so when I do to help everyone out.

I've also done 2 oil changes using that rotella t6 synthetic 15w40 diesel oil. I have no complaints using it so far, however I have no experience to compare this to. Of course I also got that bit of info from this forum, thanks again.

Next up was the final drive oil. I went with some synthetic Walmart 75w90 gear oil. I'm not sure if the noise was there before, but I hear some noise from the rear area, kinda sounds like a off road mud tire on a jeep going at highway speeds when I'm going around maybe 30 to 40mph. Not sure if that's because of the oil or if the noise was there before. I do a lot of highway driving.

Then we have a coolant flush. Man was that stuff nasty in the reservoir. When I bought the bike the reservoir was empty and had sludge in the bottom. I cleaned all that out and did 2 flushes with distilled water and vinegar. Idk why my friend said it works good. He has a bike to and that's what he used so idk. Seemed to work fine for me. I will say for the record that no fluid was draining from the bottom of the pan when I removed the bolt. It was clogged with debris. I used the ink stick from a pen and shoved it up the drain bolt hole. A ton of crap came out.