Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had problems since last summer with a poor running(if it even starts) VN750 -86.
After some suggestions from this forum I took the Carbs apart and cleaned everything but it didn't help.
The last suggestion I got was to change the float valve, which I have been planning to do.
Now I have the oppurtunity to buy a complete carb assembly from a scrapped VN750 from 1993, so I'm thinking why take my apart again if I can buy a newer one and hopefully get rid of my problems?:rockon:

The question is: Will a carb assembly from a 1993 fit my 1986 VN without mods?
My petcock has PRI-ON-RES if that affect the carbs in any way.
The bike is probably American from the beginning and has since then moved to Belgium and now finally Sweden.

/Tony

·
Premium Member
4,774 Posts
The carb assembly part numbers are different at bikebandit.com, but I have no personal knowledge about interchangeability. Those more familiar will probably chime in.

Do you know how the carbs were performing on the other bike, and how long since it ran? Carb problems are very common on bikes that haven't run for a while. Those carbs may need to be cleaned too! Too bad they don't sell Sea Foam in Sweden. That might solve your problem without removing the carbs for cleaning. Have you tried using a locally available carb cleaner that can be added to your fuel? If you haven't, I'd try that first; just follow the instructions on this site about adding Sea Foam to the carbs and fuel. Ask around about what is the best product available to you.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The carbs haven't changed!

I have finally had the time to change carbs on my bike.
I can now say that a carb from a 1993 VN750 fits a 1986 VN750 without any problems! So as a info to anyone that of some reason needs to change their carb, it seems as they should be interchangeable between the different modelyears.

·
Registered