Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I really liked the look of the Harley crash bars a lot more than the little one made for the Vulcan 750. I have been studying the one on my friends Ultra Classic for a few months and I finally decided I could make it work. I found one on Ebay for $44 and here is what I did:

I installed a longer bolt through the left side foot peg bracket then slid the mount for the crash bar on the longer bolt and used a lock washer and a bolt to secure it.

I made a template for a bracket to bolt to the 2 engine mount bolts on the right side and extend down to the mount on the crash bar then I had a friend of mine at work fabricate it from 1/4" steel and I used longer bolts to go through it and the engine mounts.

To mount the top center of the crash bar I removed the radiator cover and removed the 2 top bolts that secure the radiator to the frame I replaced the bolts with studs and used a nut to secure the radiator.

Then I drilled holes in the radiator cover for the studs to go through

I reinstalled the radiator cover and put a nut and a lock washer on each stud

Then I made another bracket with holes in the top to slide on the studs and one at the bottom to bolt to the center crash bar mount. I put a lock washer and nut on the studs in front of the plate and tighted the back nut against the plate and tightened the front nut against the plate to hold it in place.

And here it is all mounted with my new foot pegs so I can stretch my legs. I love it and I think it looks great!!!!!!!!!!

·
If only it had 6th gear..
1,100 Posts
Yeah it does look great. Nice work. I don't mind the stock vn E guard but but what you've done is definitely an upgrade.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. One other thing I forgot to mention is that it doesn't interfere at all with the bike leaning the driver footpegs hit the ground at exactly the same time as the crash bar

·