Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there,

Well, after talking to a motorcycle shop, I was told that the bar size on the 750 was 1 inch and not 7/8. Stupid me bought some cool looking grips that are 1 inch. Is there any way I can still use them?

All help is appreciated.

·
Banned
10,354 Posts
....not really...unless ya add a sleave...

...if I were you, Id bring em back to the shop and tell em they lied, and ya want a refund.....

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I bought them online because the store said they didn't have the size. I'm going to try and contact them on monday and see what they can do. I was reading somewhere that you can put some sort of liquid rubber or duct tape to help, but i don't know if that's a smart idea.
Sorry if this sounded dumb. I'm a newbie and don't really have friends that ride.

·
1986 VN750
3,255 Posts
I would see if you can return them, if possible. It would suck to lose throttle because your grip came loose.

·
Jack of all trades
2,863 Posts
Yeah I'd try to swap them out for some 7/8 grips. Its not really safe using oversize grip (you could make them fit but like I said, not the smartest idea).

·
Registered
137 Posts
Most on-line places will exchange for the right part if you pay shipping to send back the wrong grips. I do have stock style 1" bar for sale if you want to convert your bike to 1" bar. Mine is converted to 1" bar

·
Banned
10,354 Posts
Yeah, dont try to use em....duct tape with a lil gas on em will make em stick, but they wont be "right"....or safe...
Dont ride until ya get grips for 7/8"....I know....the diff between 7/8 and 1" is minimal...1/16 all the way around to be exact...and yeah, you can make up the room with spacers, garden hose, etc for handlebar add ons....but dont do it for grips....

·
Dr. Vulcanstein
1,536 Posts