Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so I'm still a newbie to motorcycling; my first bike is this '86 VN750, and I'm digging it. I have a 3/4 helmet that I've been wearing open-faced. I like the wind in my face. Or so I thought.

Yesterday I hit my first "gnat cloud," an experience I won't soon forget. It was like somebody threw a handful of BBs in my face. I must've ate a dozen of those bugs and right as I was spitting out/swallowing the pesky little bastids, I hit another cloud. This time, they went for the eyeballs. Lucky for my the lenses of my glasses too the worst of it. I managed to pull over without incident. But, man, that was totally unexpected. Ah, the joys of riding!

I think I'm gonna start wearing my face shield...

Oddboggle

·
Now what
400 Posts
I have a scratch on my Symax just outside where my mouth is from the rock thrown up by the bus I was behind just weeks after I started riding. Saved me a fair amount of discomfort, and maybe a tooth.

·
Uber Member
1,280 Posts
here in dallas we have rock hallers that never cover their loads and people carrying loads of sand in their pickups or on trailers.....the rockhallers i get by as fast as possiable....but the people carrying sand.....i've had the feeling of sandblasted up to a 1/4 mile beind them on windy dry days b4....makes me glad i have a windshield and full face...my arms and hands still get some pain though

·
Registered
4 Posts
Watch out for the trucks hauling beauty bark...you may not see it, but there is usually a cloud of tiny "needles" behind them. Learned the hard way to keep the shield down.
Ride safe
Ride alert
RIDE

Chic Bumgarner (glydrgydr)
Sumner, WA
VROC #14560
'04 VN750 "Windsong"
Westco MF battery & charger connector
Digital voltmeter/temperature/clock
chrome wide levers
Memphis Shades "Demon" windshield
Chrome ride bell (thanks, Dianna)
Willie & Max saddlebags

·
Premium Member
4,054 Posts