Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering....would an EMP attack affect our Vulcans if we were riding? What if they are in the garage with battery tender attached?

·
MANIC MECHANIC
943 Posts
Just wondering....would an EMP attack affect our Vulcans if we were riding? What if they are in the garage with battery tender attached?
Switch to decaf, and take a nap. I feel thats the best advice in this situation. :BLAM:

·
Premium Member
1,126 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I do need decaf...man drinking three shots straight up at the local starbucks...

·
HAWK
2,576 Posts
I'm not a expert but plugged in it may fry the battery, there is no computer to hit so I would guess it could still run if you can get it started.
Unplugged I don't know if it would drain the battery or not.
Found this if it helps.
In addition to other effects, a nuclear weapon detonated in or above the earth’s atmosphere or alternatively an E-Bomb (see below) can create an electromagnetic pulse (EMP), a high-density electrical field. EMP acts like a stroke of lightning but is stronger, faster and briefer. EMP can seriously damage electronic devices connected to power sources or antennas. This include communication systems, computers, electrical appliances, and automobile or aircraft ignition systems. The damage could range from a minor interruption to actual burnout of components. Most electronic equipment within 1,000 miles of a high-altitude nuclear detonation could be affected. Battery powered radios with short antennas generally would not be affected.

·
Premium Member
1,126 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks. I was just listening to the radio and they were saying that we would be totally devastated by an EMP. Transported back to agricultural days. No water...etc. I have MRE's for food but need to think about water back up.

·
Old Twistie Sticks Rider
5,072 Posts